Nina Simone: Four Women - Southwest Arts Center - Play Detail - Theatre Atlanta
Theatre Atlanta
Your Source For What's On Stage In Atlanta 

   Quick Search
OR
Search by date:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   Nina Simone: Four Women at Southwest Arts Center

Nina Simone: Four Women

Southwest Arts Center
915 New Hope Road Atlanta, GA 30331

"Four Women" is one of the most blistering works by artist-activist Nina Simone -- a musical indictment of racial prejudice and attitudes as explored through the experiences of four black women. In Christina Ham's play with music Nina Simone: Four Women, the subjects of Simone's song -- Aunt Sarah, Saffronia, Sweet Thing and Peaches -- are introduced as women Simone met at the site of the 16th Street Baptist Church bombing, prompting conversations about how their lives have been changed by the hue of their skin. Featuring some of Simone's most popular Civil Rights-era anthems such as "Mississippi Goddam," "Go Limp," and "Young, Gifted, and Black," this production at Atlanta's Southwest Arts Center is a portrait of an artist striving to enact change through her work.

Sep 25 - Oct 21, 2018

Tue, Sep 25: 7:30pm
Wed, Sep 26: 7:30pm
Thu, Sep 27: 7:30pm
Fri, Sep 28: 7:30pm
Sat, Sep 29: 2:30pm & 7:30pm
Sun, Sep 30: 2:30pm
Wed, Oct 3: 11:00am & 7:30pm
Thu, Oct 4: 7:30pm
Fri, Oct 5: 7:30pm
Sat, Oct 6: 2:30pm & 7:30pm
Sun, Oct 7: 2:30pm
Wed, Oct 10: 7:30pm
Thu, Oct 11: 7:30pm
Fri, Oct 12: 7:30pm
Sat, Oct 13: 2:30pm & 7:30pm
Sun, Oct 14: 2:30pm
Wed, Oct 17: 11:00am & 7:30pm
Thu, Oct 18: 7:30pm
Fri, Oct 19: 7:30pm
Sat, Oct 20: 2:30pm & 7:30pm
Sun, Oct 21: 2:30pm


Box Office: 404-505-3224

www.fultonarts.org


Click Here for Half-Price Tickets